Old Pictures; Beyond Forgetting

               By Vic Odarve

Seemingly unimportant and usually taken for granted or forgotten, old photographs capture precious moments, recalls the details, and remembers the traces of footprints of our yesteryears. Old photos are the living witness of the happiest or saddest moments; allows to recall all the details down the road and rewinding how life was spent in the times of our life.

Boy Scouts of the Philippines

          Boy Scouts of the Philippines

Yes, in my ancestral home, old framed pictures hanging on the wall remind me where I spent my childhood days, my great grandparents’ heydeys, and some of the most memorable parts of my life. In one of the photos, I was once a platoon leader of a boys’ scout group ready for jamboree competition to a nearby village. We were in complete uniform with a cap on the heads in a scout drill formation. Even in black-and-white, it was easy to tell that we were then kids schooling at Mayana Primary Schools. Scouting has been a part of my life for longer than I can remember. My parents told me that I have always loved scouting life during my primary education. And this old picture confirms!

Upon scanning more of the pictures, old memories gradually flash back and forth in my minds from the events of the distant past. The traces of memories that appear to disintegrate over time seem real and fresh. Looking back to my childhood days, with the days spent together with our great grandparents and country people, these memories are beyond forgetting!

           Mayana basketball team 1977

It is indeed enjoyable to see these old pictures. It stirs our memories and recalls the days of our youth. I would like to rewind the good old days when we played basketball games during fiesta celebration. Now, the village of Mayana is one of my favourite getaway destinations. Going back to the old trail of the San Miguel Academy, I can feel like walking through mist and clouds along the mountain ranges, meet all the fairies and magical creatures, and watch the birds doing orchestra along with the canopies. Remembering my good old childhood days, it is sort of feeling that cannot be captured on camera and more than the old pictures hanging on the wall.

  There really is no place like home. Old pictures remind me the places and events where I come from; the land of my birth, and with all its diversity, the good and the bad, I would like to go there first over anywhere else in the world. It is just proper to share our good old days and momentous moments to our sons and grandsons how we spent our lives before.

         Great grandmas

The Bible puts it;

“Only give heed to yourself and keep your soul diligently, so that you do not forget the things which your eyes have seen and they do not depart from your heart all the days of your life; but make them known to your sons and your grandsons”. Deuteronomy 4:9

For us the living, the old pictures keep us remember and stir our memories. It is beyond forgetting!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

